Leaving Moshi - Reisverslag uit Moshi, Tanzania van Nienja Brouwer - WaarBenJij.nu Leaving Moshi - Reisverslag uit Moshi, Tanzania van Nienja Brouwer - WaarBenJij.nu

Leaving Moshi

Door: Nienja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nienja

18 April 2005 | Tanzania, Moshi

Leaving Moshi for two months to go to The Netherlands…

The project has arrived at the stage of transcribing and translating the interviews. For almost two months, six days a week, from 8 am to 6 p.m. we have run our PRIOR- project office. There you could find many hardworking people transcribing the interview-tapes into words and others translating them from Swahili into English. In total we have about 70 interviews to analyse and discuss in our results!

We discussed to divide the topics to write results about. Jaap will write his master thesis about Risk-perception on HIV/Aids, Gloria will write her first article about Attitudes, Social environmental influences and Self-Efficacy beliefs on Aids/Aids, Testing-testing and treatment. Myself I will write my first article about gender-roles (behaviour of men and women, responsibilities, expectations) and the influence on (risk) behaviour.

Spending my last days…

Jaap and I decided to plant a “Jaap and Nienja orange tree” in our garden. Hoping it will grow and remember the great times we had working and living as friends and colleagues in the B20 house (when I return, Jaap has left for Holland to finish his Masters)!

Great parties of friends and neighbours, I did not even have to give my own farewell party. Being in a small community means you see your friends on all parties. The birthday party of a one year old is always a very big occasion. I had the chance to celebrate two birthday parties of 1 year olds in Moshi so far already… (and will continue in Holland!)

Of course I visited the aerobic training some extra times…Jumping up and down, clapping under your legs, kicking, dancing, push-ups, “sharing ideas”. Abas is our Kenyan trainer, he always asks for feedback on his training, “to share ideas and to open our hearts, to live more healthy and happy”. It is quite special in Tanzania to ask for feedback and to open up your heart to a stranger…but he manages..and I really feel he means something to people here..also for me I will miss these get togethers!! I wish I could show you the movie of the lessons through internet…but pictures will have to do the trick..

The last month I started to become more serious in learning Swahili. I met Innocent (looks great isn’t it…I met with innocence….it is his name, and to me I feel he deserves it!) he became my Mwalimu mzuri (great teacher). He is also a fantastic traditional dancer, so I hope when I return to Moshi, to learn more of his dances!

Kwaheri (see you) Moshi!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Tanzania, Moshi

Tanzanienja

Hiv/Aids preventie onderzoek vanuit PRIOR.

Recente Reisverslagen:

05 Oktober 2006

Walking over water

06 Juni 2006

Julius Mapambano

20 December 2005

Wow…goodbye Moshi

25 November 2005

Mount Kilimanjaro

23 Oktober 2005

Fieldwork
Nienja

Wat leuk dat je mijn reisdagboek leest! Meer over wie ik ben kun je lezen op mijn website: nienjabrouwer.nl Laat je ook een berichtje voor mij achter?

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 152
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46498

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Oktober 2013 - 08 Januari 2013

Reis om de wereld in 82 dagen

03 December 2009 - 31 December 2009

Zijn is fijn, samenZijn nog fijner!

30 September 2004 - 15 Augustus 2006

Tanzanienja

Landen bezocht: