Utrecht-Moshi - Reisverslag uit Utrecht, Nederland van Nienja Brouwer - WaarBenJij.nu Utrecht-Moshi - Reisverslag uit Utrecht, Nederland van Nienja Brouwer - WaarBenJij.nu

Utrecht-Moshi

Door: Nienja

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nienja

26 April 2005 | Nederland, Utrecht

Arrival in The Netherlands!!!

I must say it is great being back in The Netherlands. I had a very warm welcome at Schiphol airport from Hanneke and Anass-Meine. We took the train (which arrived and left on time) and took a taxi (which was the first in line, no negotiation with different drivers, and the price is fixed). The first couple of days I have walked around town with this great big smile of being able to participate in a familiar environment but still having the outsiders overview.

Some of the differences of Utrecht versus Moshi

The Air smells so different! In Utrecht I was surprised by the smell of cold, cleanness, spring.
Moshi has a smell of earth, dust, fire (cooking on fire and burning of garbage), heat, people.

Of course there is a big difference in roads and buildings, but that is obvious. Only I realised while in Moshi that in The Netherlands we have public garbage bins everywhere…in Moshi you can throw your empty bottles or candy papers away on the streets.. but being brought up as a citizen in The Netherlands I refuse to do that and I kept all my trashes within my bag, to throw in a garbage bin at home….

Walking around town. In Moshi you seem to be everybody’s friend, most welcome to talk to everybody and to visit all the shops. Karibu sana (Most welcome). Children yelling at you, Mzungu (European)!!! Sometimes followed by: Hujambo (how are you)? In Utrecht I walk along the streets without being exotic, strange or interesting (unless someone seems to fancy me of course ..haha), it is quiet.

I realise how the definition of friendship is for a great part shaped by culture. In Moshi meeting somebody and shaking hands, I made a new friend, exchange numbers and sending each other sms is something you do daily. In Utrecht, I hardly ever exchange numbers straight away, and when you do not reply to messages people will know you are busy (mostly with work), in Moshi people say you were “lost” (the excuse of family business is more common). Friends in Moshi tell me I am very direct, not always appropriately dressed (very casual/sporty) and I ask a lot of questions. I am forgiven for my strange behaviour because “I am from Holland”. Okay I must admit in Utrecht people also say I am direct and I ask a lot of questions…but I can find people that have the same “behaviour” (that I understand very well). It is strange people in Moshi warn me for having friends that “might want to take advantage of you”. It is not nice to have the doubt whether somebody is interested in me as a person, or maybe interested in me as a European. A white friend gives some sort of status, maybe some opportunities for life (going abroad, money). But since I am back in Utrecht at least I noticed I start to miss some of my Moshi friends!

Going to a café or restaurant. In Moshi most people at a bar are men, drinking and enjoying chatting or playing pool. Beer is something people drink at any time of the day. There are not many women that visit a bar, most are bar-workers. In Utrecht you can find men and women in the bars and restaurants. During daytime, having lunch, talking or reading magazines while having tea or coffee (so many choices in coffee and tea flavours!) and at night-time women go out together as well as men, and so many couples going out together! In Moshi I go out with groups of friends, but the women are European, the men are African. To meet African women as friends to go out with is very hard. It seems for women it is not respectable to go out for dancing. When you are single you risk the reputation of being “easy or cheap”, and when in a relationship it is not appropriate to go out anymore unless accompanied by your man (which they hardly ever do!).

SALSA…I missed dancing Salsa every week. Being able to go out for Salsa dancing and to find myself in a bar where there is a dance-floor full of great dancers, twisting, turning on the rhythms of Latin-America…great.

Time…It is really true in Moshi time still has a different meaning. People never run to catch a bus and never eat while driving/reading/working. To eat is something you take your time, to move from one location to another is something you take your time (and true…you sweat a lot when you try to run), when you meet friends on your way, you take your time. Doing your work, you take your time, THERE IS NO HURRY IN AFRICA. That must be beneficial for your health!!!

Work spirit. I must (maybe unnecessary) say the work ethics are very much culturally bound. I hope I will learn not to be in a hurry, because now I noticed the frustration from time pressure can be detrimental for my health!!! In Moshi people feel I am very fast, I am strict and punctual, and I feel to much responsible for the work I do (maybe I am!). In Moshi I seem to almost blame people for a lack of involvement in the work you do, and not to see the challenge from teamwork. It is not very common to give or receive feedback. Of course this should not be overestimated, also many individuals in The Netherlands lack motivation for work and there are also people in Moshi that communicate a lot about the work they do…but cultural definitions can make it very hard to adjust to a new working environment!

I hope to learn more and to come to understand more the dynamics that underlie differences…
To be continued…

  • 27 April 2005 - 07:29

    Jaap In Moshi:

    Wow, Nienja, wat een verhaal en vergelijkingen (of juist niet..;))

    Supercoolom te lezen,wat je daar allemaal opvalt, wat ik hier niet meer zie.

    Wat lekker om die foto te zien van je nieuwe "kantoor",zo lekker nederlands,haha die plant op tafel alleen al, hier groeien die dingen als onkruid...

    Hier in Moshi gaat 't Afrikaanse tempo nog steeds op (soms leidend to weer/meer frustraties). Aan de andere kant weet ik dat 't in Nederland anders is en of dat nu beter is??? Ik ben er nog niet helemaal over uit.

    Vrienden heb je hier inderdaad zo gemaakt,tis maar wat voor soort defenitie van vriendschap je hebt ;)

    En in mijn definitie,mis ik onze gesprekken en samenzijn....;)

    Lieve Nien, als je dicht bij jezelf blijft en af en toe afstand neemt van 't afrikaanse is het in Moshi goed uit te houden ;) en is t zeker een ervaring om nooit te vergeten en die je mee neemt in de rest van je leven.

    Maar voor nu.....Geniet van Nederland en alle nederlandse dingen (thee in alle soorten smaken,leuke restaurants/cafe's waar je lekker kunt lunchen, een supermarkt waar ze alles hebben,aerobics met andere muziek dan de Vengaboys!!,straten die verhard zijn, het salsa dansen, lekker makkelijk kunnen communiceren met mensen, etc.)

    Nu kan 't nog!! Neem t allemaal in je op zodat je straks weer met een frisse start en energie hier in Moshi aan de slag kunt gaan!!

    Veel liefs, dikke knuffel, Jaap

  • 27 April 2005 - 08:40

    Sanne:

    Goh, wat een bekende ruimte, dat kantoor!!!! en wie is die knappe jongen?? Lijkt een beetje op mij... oh wacht, het is m'n broer ;) Oke, sorry, even een flauw begin, moet kunnen op z'n tijd.

    Leuk om te lezen welke verschillen je ziet! en ook goed dat je het allemaal weer een beetje kunt relativeren, vooral het werktempo...:)

    Kom je nog eens een keertje langs in Maastricht? vond het namelijk erg gezellig!

    Dikke kus, Sanne

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Utrecht

Tanzanienja

Hiv/Aids preventie onderzoek vanuit PRIOR.

Recente Reisverslagen:

05 Oktober 2006

Walking over water

06 Juni 2006

Julius Mapambano

20 December 2005

Wow…goodbye Moshi

25 November 2005

Mount Kilimanjaro

23 Oktober 2005

Fieldwork
Nienja

Wat leuk dat je mijn reisdagboek leest! Meer over wie ik ben kun je lezen op mijn website: nienjabrouwer.nl Laat je ook een berichtje voor mij achter?

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 239
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46497

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Oktober 2013 - 08 Januari 2013

Reis om de wereld in 82 dagen

03 December 2009 - 31 December 2009

Zijn is fijn, samenZijn nog fijner!

30 September 2004 - 15 Augustus 2006

Tanzanienja

Landen bezocht: